Misery Loves Company

What has six legs, six wheels, and a heckuva lot of fun? Me and two of the dudes from Flyer Cycles. Last night, I joined my friends, Tervo and AJ, on a ride of grandeur over the rollers of the Keweenaw to Misery Bay.

Misery comes in many forms, but riding the road bike masks that pretty well. I knew that riding with AJ and Tervo would be a bit more challenging for me, maybe even painful, even if they went at a leisurely pace (for them). Putting it lightly, Tervo can climb well. AJ rocks a 64×9 or something ridiculous (I’m probably exaggerating). But they’re both really great dudes to train with, and even if I’m huffing and puffing and falling off my bike, I always come back for more.

Yesterday’s ride: Roughly, 50 miles round trip. Not too long, but some decent climbs along the way. And some hilarity as well.

There were some climbs, some decents, some rumble strips, some cars, but once we got into Toivola and turned toward the Bay, the road was quiet. We could even ride three abreast for most of the way back.

Oh, yeah. There was some dirt, too.

One of the most rewarding things about biking in the Keweenaw, aside from all the rollers and cool breezes and low traffic, is the destination. Want to see a waterfall? We can do that. Want to see Lake Superior? That’s easy. Yesterday was so calm in Misery Bay that we couldn’t hardly tell where Superior started and the sky began…

We got back to town as the sun was setting. I bonked a few times, but Tervo saved my day with a few gels he stashed in his pocket. I don’t know what I was thinking not bringing along food, especially when riding with these guys. Perhaps I knew we were going to Misery Bay and wanted to make it suitable? Luckily, during one of my bonks we made plans to head to the Dorfblick Training Center after the ride to eat big-ass burgers and watch Ironman, and that brought me home.

I’m looking forward to some really nice weather, big training, and even better recovery this week.

Leave a comment