Time to enjoy a cuppa joe.

It’s Saturday and I’m home alone. I can’t remember the last weekend that I was un-busy, and all by myself. Baberaham left this morning to head to Mora with some friends for the Vassaloppet, and I bailed. I am registered for the classic, but I just didn’t go. Our ride pulled up, and I didn’t get in. This is the first race I can recall that I’ve signed up for and didn’t compete in. Being the broke-a*s college student I am, I really try to avoid wasting money. But, I was feeling a bit under the weather yesterday, and woke up this morning with a sore throat. Instead of sitting in a car with the (potential) top male finishers and getting them sick, I “sacrificed” and stuck around Houghton. I think truth of the matter really is: I have lost motivation to ski race this season. I have skate skied twice, both times throwing in the towel early because I was being too much of a wuss to build my shin strength. I’ve classic skied several times, a few longer skis, and I thoroughly enjoy it, especially when the wax is just right… but I’d honestly rather go for a run or ride my bike than head out for a ski, let alone race a marathon. So, I just stayed.

Sitting here, in my apartment alone (well, Abbie is here, too), I’m reflective. I don’t feel tired or hungry, nor do I feel incredibly awake and alert. I’ve put time in on the bike trainer and I plan to head to the pool this afternoon (after a few hours at the office). I watched a movie and caught up on email, and maybe tonight I’ll bake a cake. Go for a long run tomorrow (I’m feeling better). I’m really excited to just train this weekend, put in the hours on my feet and get it done. I also am looking forward to making some ice cream and enjoying the “quiet” (as soon as I started writing that sentence, someone outside started belting out an indistinguishable song).

So, I leave you with this Saturday post somewhat open-ended. Nothing exciting going on, but I’m excited about that. I have my cup of coffee, still steaming, and its smell has filled the room. The sun is peeking out from behind the gray. It’s going to be a good day.

2 thoughts on “Time to enjoy a cuppa joe.

  1. Sometimes it is just better to rest. I have been gone for a bit, but nice work on the indoor marathon. The chocolate also looks fantastic!

    I would love to hear more about the rim to rim race. I have always wanted to do that type of event.

    • I found out Thursday that my spring rim to rim to rim run has been canceled! It wasn’t a race, but it was definitely going to be an all-in venture. Now to find something else that will take its place 🙂 Good to have you back.

Leave a Reply

