2010, here I come!

I am super excited to race this year. Last year’s triathlon season, my first attempt at tri, was a blast, and even though I only did three races, it was like a party every time. Who’da thought exercising for 11 1/2 hours would be fun? Uhh… this girl. Racing in 2009 brought me some incredibly great gifts:

  • a new sport (or three sports, I guess I should say)
  • a marathon PR (3:19 at Columbus, five weeks after IMoo)
  • a new team
  • a new outlook on racing
  • a new set of goals

But, in order to reach my goals (see bel0w), I need to build myself stronger than before. The next few months for me will include some major BUILD periods where I throw down major hours with an elevated heart rate. I’m investing in tools that will get me there (CycleOps powermeter, road bike, music for the trainer/treadmill!). I’m even going to start keeping a more robust training log! I will get there.

So without further adieu, I give you my 2010 goals!

  1. Another marathon PR (shooting for 3:10)
  2. My first ultra (I think this is the typical endurance-junkie’s next-step, but I seriously want to do one and want to do one well!) – Voyageur 50mile
  3. Break 11hours in the long course tri (Rev3 Cedar Point!)
  4. Break 4:45 in the half iron tri (many opportunities too, including Rev3 races in Knoxville and Quassy)
  5. Race my first road crit!
  6. Mountain bike more – and race (and stop being so afraid of falling with clipless pedals!)
  7. Be a successful race director for the Kuparisaari Tri
  8. Be a supportive teammate, partner, and friend!
  9. and of course… Have fun!

So, join me at some races this summer. Tri, running, biking- whatever! I’ve posted my tentative schedule on the right. You can use my code (trakkers118) to get $10 off Rev3 registration fee for any (or all three!) Rev3 events. I’ll be there with bells on … or at least a bell in hand!

5 thoughts on “2010, here I come!

  1. Discovered your blog recently… can’t remember how.. ?? Loving it. Good luck this year. I’ll be at Rev3 Quassy… my second 1/2 … and hopefully I’ll complete this one! Bike malfunctions in attempt number 1… back in 2008… bring it 2010. It’s going to be a wild ride!

  2. That’s a great 2010 you have planned. I can’t wait to hear when you reach each of your goals! Thanks for inspiring this newbie endurance athlete.

  3. Guess what? I am actually curious about the Voyageur 50miler! Where is it? I’ve been looking for a 50 miler sometime after June and before Sept. Thanks! You have some awesome goals, I like the one about being a supportive team mate, partner and friend. Good luck with all of your goals in 2010, Megan!

  4. Pingback: Recap: 2010 “Sophomore” Season « in training

Leave a Reply

