Say Yah to da UP, from Downstate

Over my short break at home with family, I spent an evening making gluten-free cut-out cookies. My mom’s kitchen is the best place for this, because she has so much cookie-makin’ real estate in terms of counterspace. I grabbed the only bag of gluten free flour in the house (Bob’s Red Mill Brown Rice flour), found a recipe online, and pulled the butter out of the fridge. Then I realized that the recipe called for xantham gum, and on Christmas Day, I knew I’d have a hard time finding that anywhere. Luckily, my mom’s awesome Google-ing skills found me a xantham gum-free recipe, and it only called for rice flour*! Double bonus.

Here’s the recipe for about 6 dozen cookies!:

  • 4.5 cups of rice flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 cup butter
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1.5 cup sugar

Beat together butter and sugar, then beat in eggs. Mix the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and form dough. Refrigerate for an hour or so, and then flour clean countertop and rolling pin with rice flour (or cornstarch). Roll out dough and cut out cookies! Bake at 350F on a non-stick cookie sheet for 8-10minutes or until edges are brown.

I used cornstarch to ‘flour’ my rolling pin and countertop, because I made a 1.5batches of cookie dough and subsequently ran out of rice flour. It worked great though!

I definitely represented with this batch of cookies. I brought along my copper cookie cutter on the trip, and had a little piece of heaven with me to share.

The Upper Peninsula was definitely on my map on Christmas Day. Say yah to da UP, eh?

*gluten-free baked goods typically use flour mixes, such as Featherlight (rice and tapioca flours with potato starch), which makes the flour more like the ‘real thing’

Leave a Reply

