Early Christmas!

Lucky me, I have an incredible boyfriend with an incredible family. Not only did I get a sweet workout get-up from Soma from my boyfriend’s parents (and a lot of other really cool things including underwear and a handmade ceramic ornament!), I got to spend time with the “whole family” all together: my boyfriend, my parents, his parents, and the dogs. Talk about a most excellent time.

On the drive home (the good ol’ 10 hours of it), I totally guessed the gift that Baberaham got me (he gave it away with ‘smaller than a toaster’ and ‘electronic’, and the fact that he intentionally dropped my Sony digital camera in the snow while skiing a few weeks ago because I asked him not to!). I didn’t know what specific kind he got though, so I was super excited to see that he got me a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT1 camera (translation: tough camera). It can be dropped 5ft and submerged under 10ft of water (for 60min) without anything bad happening to it! Sweet. Sounds perfect for my clutzy self.

Funny thing is: His present from me was also a digital camera- the Olympus TOUGH 8000.

So now that we each have a tough camera, we are BATTLING!

Which camera owner is more lucky?

The Lumix:

  • Shockproof (5ft)
  • Waterproof (10ft)
  • Intelligent auto-mode (ie. ridiculous image capture regardless of photographer/subject movement)
  • 12.1Megapixels
  • 4.6x optical zoom
  • High ISO
  • Wide angle lens
  • HD video!

The Olympus TOUGH 8000:

  • Shockproof (6.6ft)
  • Waterproof (33ft)
  • Freezeproof (-10C)
  • Crush-proof (220lbf)
  • Dual image stabilization
  • 12Megapixels
  • 3.6x optical zoom

Only time will tell.

We debated sending one back and sharing the other… but then vetoed that because each camera has its own qualities that we’ll benefit from (and we both are gear geeks). The Lumix has HD video, so expect to see more awesome Youtube/Vimeos on my blog! And the Olympus Tough is, well… more tought than the Lumix, so Baberaham can take it climbing and not feel so bad if he drops it halfway up a pitch.

I’m really excited to use these! Will keep ya’ll in the loop about the functionality of each. If you have one of these, let me know what your favorite features are!

4 thoughts on “Early Christmas!

  1. Your race schedule makes me want to cry AND rob a bank. Holy crap, that’s a lot of racing!!! Can’t wait to meet you along the way. Triple T is scaring the crap out of me right now. Got to keep working those hills.

  2. I’m looking for a new camera to take training with me…the Nikon D90 really doesn’t fit too well in a jersey pocket. Share your thoughts!

    • The Olympus Tough 8000 has this cool feature where you tap it to change screens or options. So, if you’re out and have gloves on that are thick and can’t really feel for the buttons, you can just tap the camera on the side and it will flick through the camera options. The Lumix takes really awesome photos with great focus regardless of how much I’m moving around. I took some photos of my parents dog without the flash on and they are perfectly clear. I’ll definitely be updating my blog about the different features of the cameras, so stay tuned ;-D

Leave a Reply

